RSS

A supermarket wine confession

27 Oct

2006 Smoking Loon Cabernet Sauvignon, California $17.75 LCBO #055517

Let’s face it…we are all guilty of secretly liking something that we shouldn’t. You know what I am talking about. The nutritionist who extols the virtues of eating fresh local food, but secretly covets a good Twinkie once in a while. The kid who sat next to you in grade school who was told not to eat the erasers off his pencil, but still couldn’t go the day without chewing one off. For me…it’s this wine.

The 2006 Smoking Loon Cabernet Sauvignon is on paper my least favourite kind of wine. It’s mass produced (242,000 cases made), blended from grapes from all over California, and (worst of all) literally put together by winemakers like some sort of Frankenstein monster….but…I love it. It has all the classic blackberry and plum flavours you would expect from a California Cabernet. Plus, it has really nice notes of cedar and tobacco on the finish.

This is a great everyday wine and pairs well with a pot roast or grilled meat. At $17.75, this is a really well priced wine and something I would definitely recommend. Selfishly, I am really glad this wine knocked me down a peg or two. Otherwise I would have missed out on this easy going gem of a wine…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
