RSS

Madame….is the Marqués at home?

29 Dec

2000 Marqués de Riscal Reserva, Rioja, Spain $24.70 LCBO #032656

Sometimes it’s nice to revisit the place where it all began. As you drink different types of wines, there is real comfort in coming back to a wine that reminds you of your youth.

For me, it is this wine. Specifically, it’s the memory of pilfering a few bottles from my old man’s stash in the garage. (I guess I can admit that now. I am pretty sure the statute of limitations has expired on my crime.) Back in the day when I was still pushing corks into the bottle (smart enough to steal the bottle…not smart enough to steal a cork screw) I remember the Marqués de Riscal to be a wonderfully warm and easy drinking wine. The 2000 version still brings that feeling rushing back to me. It has pronounced flavours of red berries, plum, cedar, and a hint of chocolate. This wine would pair very well with roast beef, lamb chops, or even a vegetarian lasagna. As for cheese, I would recommend that you try it with a Swiss cheese or a Gouda.

On top of being a walk down memory lane for me, the 2000 Marqués de Riscal Reserva is a very good value at $24.70. I would definitely suggest that you try a bottle soon…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 29, 2008 in Red Wine, Spain, Tempranillo

 

Leave a Reply

 
