RSS

$12…make you holla!

26 Jan

2006 Chilensis Reserva Carménère, Maule Valley, Chile $11.95 LCBO #657981

I love it when people recommend wine to me. The world of wine is so vast that there is no way I could possibly navigate it without help. Often times I am turned on to amazing wines that I would have never thought of to try on my own. This week’s wine is one such example. Thank you to Robert B. for bringing this week’s wine to the table.

The 2006 Chilensis Reserva is made from the Carménère [car-men-YEHR] grape. This long lost grape originally from Bordeaux has found its stride in Chile. This week’s wine has delicious flavours of fresh cherries and chocolate with nice herbal and cedar notes. It goes great with a range of comfort food. Anything from teriyaki chicken to meatloaf. It even goes with a bean salad. As for cheese, I would recommend trying it with Gorgonzola or Livarot. (Livarot is a washed rind cows milk cheese from Normandy.)

At $11.95, this is a more than a great value. It is a great guilt free everyday drinking wine…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2009 in Carménère, Chile, Red Wine

 

Leave a Reply

 
