RSS

El Toro magnificio

18 Jul

2005 Sabor Real Viñas Centenarias Tempranillo, Toro, Spain LCBO# 122325

If you have been following my wine reviews on Adam’s Wine of the Week, then you won’t be caught off guard when I say…this Spanish vino is hands down the best wine for your buck out there! Over the past year I have come across a ton of fantastic Spanish wines all under $25 a bottle. This week’s Wine of the Week is no exception. The 2005 Sabor Real Viñas Centenarias is another example of how Spain has learned to take a modern approach to its wine making traditions.

Hailing from the up and coming Toro region, this wine is made from 100% Tempranillo and has wonderful flavours of black cherries, blackberries, and spice with a hint of pepper. It also has very silky tannins that, combined with its complex fruitiness, make this a very big wine. As a side note, the 2005 Sabor Real Viñas Centenarias, as the name implies, comes from vines that are over 100 years of age. I would recommend pairing the 2005 Sabor Real Viñas Centenarias with grilled rack of lamb or a grilled veal chop. As for cheese, I would recommend trying it with Swiss or Gouda.

It amazes me that this wine is only $19.95. I encourage you to seek out this wine and buy it. You will thank me for it…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think.

One more thing. For those of you following me on Twitter, over the next few weeks I will be introducing you to the best LCBO Product Consultants that Toronto has to offer. If you’re not following me yet, you can find me at http://twitter.com/AdamsWOTW.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2009 in Red Wine, Spain, Tempranillo

 

Leave a Reply

 
