RSS

Bonanza!

01 Jul

2007 Perry Creek Winery Syrah, El Dorado, California, USA $19.95 LCBO# 201194

When I was growing up one of my favourite TV shows was Bonanza! There was something about the open range that inspired me. As a little kid I remember stealing the atlas from my grade 3 classroom and pouring over maps of the American west wondering what it would have been like during the days of the Wild West. I would daydream about far away places like Crested Bute, Eureka and El Dorado. When I saw this wine sitting on the shelf at my LCBO I just had to try it.

The 2007 Perry Creek Winery El Dorado Syrah did not disappoint. While this 100% Syrah hails from one of California’s lesser known winemaking regions, it is jammed packed with developing flavours of black cherry, black currants, blueberry pie, licorice root (the stick not the black twizzler), leather, cigar box and smoke. It has lots of chunky tannins, which will help this wine age nicely over the next 3 to 5 years. My only complaint is that with almost 15% alcohol, this wine seems a bit hot on the palate.

I would recommend pairing the 2007 Perry Creek Winery Syrah with BBQ ribs or a quality strip loin. As for cheese, I would recommend trying it with a hard cheese like a Parmigiano or a Romano.

It amazes me that this wine is only $19.95. From a price-quality ratio (PQR) this is a great find. I recommend you pick up a few bottles of this great summer wine for your next BBQ…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think by commenting below. If you’re not following me yet on Twitter, you can find me at http://twitter.com/AdamsWOTW.

Happy Canada Day! I’m glad to be back! See you all next week!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2011 in California, Red Wine, Syrah

 

Leave a Reply

 
