RSS

French smoky whiteness!

09 Jul

2009 Cédrick Bardin Pouilly-Fumé, Lorie Valley, France LCBO# 202416 $21.95

In the immortal words of the Foo Fighters…I have a confession to make. I am digging white wines these days more than reds. I know…crazy! But not just any old run of the mill Pinot Grigio or Chardonnay. I am really getting into white wines from places other than Italy, California and Australia. The benefit of looking outside the familiar is that often you can find very interesting, beautifully made wines at a reasonable price.

This week’s wine is a perfect example. The 2009 Cédrick Bardin is from the classic yet, in my opinion, completed undervalued French region of Pouilly-Fumé. This wine is made from the Sauvignon Blanc grape, but in a smoky style that is the calling card for wines of this region. Layered over this mineral backbone are very nice flavours of gooseberry, grapefruit, lemon and lime. The Cédrick Bardin has lots of good acid making it truly refreshing on a hot summer afternoon. It is drinking really well now, but could age another two to five years.

I would recommend pairing the 2009 Cédrick Bardin Pouilly-Fumé with baked salmon or a roasted chicken. As for cheese, I would recommend trying it with a Crottin de Chavignol (it’s a goat cheese).

At $21.95 a bottle, this is a great find. I recommend you pick up a few bottles of this fantastic white for your summer drinking…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think by commenting below. If you’re not following me yet on Twitter, you can find me at http://twitter.com/AdamsWOTW.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
