RSS

Make summer last forever…drink Beaujolais!

24 Aug

2009 Mommessin Domaine de Champ de Cour, Moulin-A-Vent, Beaujolais, France LCBO# 430876 $19.95

I really can’t stand August. It’s the meanest of months. August is a constant reminder that a sudden and much unwelcome end to summer is right around the corner. I will do anything in my power to deny this sad reality. I’ll wear shorts and flip-flops all the time (even when August sometime becomes bitingly cold). I’ll use the outdoor BBQ for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I’ll meticulously prepare my white pants for post-Labour Day wearing…and I’ll drink a lot of Beaujolais. For me, Beaujolais is the quintessential red wine for summer. It’s fruity, fresh, full of acidity and light on tannins. It’s a shame that more people don’t drink it regularly. I guess you can partially blame the marketing genius of Beaujolais Nouveau, but this underappreciated region is so much more than that.

This week’s wine comes from Moulin-A-Vent, one of the 10 villages (or Crus) within Beaujolais that are legally allowed to be denoted on the label. This (generally) means that you are getting the best of Beaujolais. Thankfully, this wine lives up to the task. The 2009 Mommessin Domaine de Champ de Cour is an amazingly fresh red made 100% from the Gamay grape. It has intense flavours of strawberry, red cherries and raspberries. It also has a well integrated spice notes, smooth soft tannins and great acidity. The trick to getting the most out of this wine is to put it in ice bucket for 20 minutes. Chilled Beaujolais is always better than one at room temperature! I would recommend pairing this wine with pastrami, beef stir-fry or chicken lo-mien. As for cheese, I would recommend trying it with a mild cheese like a gouda.

At $19.95, the 2009 Mommessin Domaine de Champ de Cour is a steal. This is another beautiful wine from another underappreciated region…but that’s just my opinion. Let me know what you think by commenting below.

If you’re not following me yet on Twitter, you can find me at @adamsWOTW. Also, never miss an Adam’s Wine of the Week by clicking the “subscribe” button to receive an email notifying you when I post a new wine review.

Finally…I have something very special planned for September for all of you. Adam’s Wine of the Week is going on a road trip! Stay tuned for more details in next week’s post.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in France, Gamay, Red Wine

 

Leave a Reply

 
